Wray-nbow of Colour Part 2

After reading my last post, a friend of mine told me that she had been threatened with police action if the chalk drawings her children did on the street of her neighbourhood wasn’t washed off.

I really can’t understand that mentality; I love the acceptance of colour and creativity on the streetscape of Wray Avenue.

It isn’t confined to children either.

When I went down to buy a bottle of wine from the Fremantle Doctor the other night, I saw Robyn from Wild Poppy doing something to the tree next to the cafe. It wasn’t until the next night, after the Fremantle Street Arts Caberet that I saw what she’d been doing.

As my girlfriend and I turned the corner into Wray Avenue, we saw our friends Ian and Sally underneath the tree admiring the knitted wool covering that went right up its trunk. I can’t believe that we’d walked right by it on the way in.

They were amazed by it. Not being from the street, they hadn’t seen the rail that Robyn had covered in crocheting last year.

I managed to get a photo of the tree the next day.

Robyn from Wild Poppy decorated this Tree with guerrilla crocheting

I’ve already noticed it attracting lots of people during the day, with many tourists stopping to take a picture. It’s a wonderful entrance to the street.

I just hope that the planned roundabout that they’re putting in next month isn’t going to mean that this tree, and its colour, get removed; there were rumours of this a while ago, that the tree and the chair would have to go.

There are some people with some grand plans for public artwork in the centre of the roundabout, and equally others with grand opposition to any ideas that I’ve heard put forward.

I for one would love to see something organic, like this tree, that the community can interact with: yarn bombing it up or decorating it on a changing basis.

3 responses to “Wray-nbow of Colour Part 2

  1. I’m trying to find out some history about a house on Wray Avenue and thought you might be able to point me in the right direction. If you, or anyone else can help, or point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

